Education

Mission

MISSION:

KBIC Education Department works together with students, families, and area schools to promote confident students and empower individuals to achieve their fullest potential to meet the challenges of today and the next seven generations.

For questions on any of the Education programs, contact:

                 Liz Julio, Education Director ljulio@kbic-nsn.gov

                 Liz Badke, Education Assistant lbadke@kbic-nsn.gov

 

EDUCATION COMMITTEE:

Serves as an advisory committee for the Education Department recognizing education is a vital role in strengthening our Keweenaw Bay Indian Community.

Teri Denomie, Chair

Lynn Haataja, Vice-Chair

Hope Laramore, Recordkeeper/Treasurer

Gary Loonsfoot Jr., Council Representation

Jennifer Heath

Sheila Royal

Liz Sherman

 

K-12

TUTORS: 

The KBIC tutors are based within the Baraga County public schools.  They offer support to enrolled KBIC students with services to include tutoring during school hours for grades K-12 and after school tutoring for grades 6-12.  They work closely with teachers, staff, and Title teachers to ensure that all student needs are best being met.

Baraga Area Schools:

Jennifer Westman, Elementary jwestman@baragaschools.org

Helen Jondreau, High School hjondreau@baragaschools.org

L’Anse Area Schools:

Beth Dix, Elementary bdix@laschools.us

Shellie Pascoe, High School sdenomie@laschools.us

 

K-12 INCENTIVES:

Slide1.JPG

College

STUDENT SOVEREIGN FUND:  KBIC funded incentive program to encourage the pursuit of post-secondary education.  Due to limited budget, has residency limitations. The application is available at: 

BIA HIGHER EDUCATION:  Need-based grant funding available to KBIC members enrolled in an Associate or Bachelor's degree programs at accredited colleges or universities located in Michigan.  The application is available at:

MICHIGAN INDIAN TUITION WAIVER: KBIC Education Department assists students in obtaining tuition funding provided by the Michigan Department of Civil Rights.  The application is available at: https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdcr/MITWAppFinal-4-28-2016_523096_7.pdf

 

EXTERNAL RESOURCES:

· Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA):  Federal need-based grant funding including Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Opportunity Grants, Federal Work Study, and Direct Loans.  Application can be found at:  https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa

· American Indian College Fund Scholarships:  For those enrolled members of a federal or state-recognized tribe, or a descendant of at least one grandparent or parent who is an enrolled tribal member.  You can receive more information or apply on-line at:  https://collegefund.org/students/scholarships/

· Intertribal Timber Council Scholarships: https://www.itcnet.org/about_us/scholarships.html

· Intertribal Council of AT&T Scholarships:  http://www.lipanapache.org/Education/Scholarships/icae_scholarship_appl_2019_v2.pdf?fbclid=IwAR2Oci7m9oSPgB066y1h9IiJfNottEh7RKICqbLymnTzh8AWHQ2jRLIGptE

· American Indian Education Fund Scholarships:  http://www.nativepartnership.org/site/PageServer?pagename=aief_home

· American Indian Graduate Center Scholarships:  https://www.aigcs.org/scholarships-fellowships/

· Association of Indian Affairs Scholarships:  https://www.indian-affairs.org/scholarships.html

· Catching the Dream Scholarships:  https://www.catchingthedream.org/

 

Community

OJIBWA COMMUNITY LIBRARY (OCL): 

OCL  serves the members of the Keweenaw Bay Indian Community and the surrounding communities. We are open to the public, and provide free library memberships to those who wish to use our library.  For more information, click on Library

                 Contact Information:

Angela Badke, Librarian angelab@kbic-nsn.gov

Dawn Browning, Assistant Librarian dbrowning@kbic-nsn.gov

 

BOOK REQUESTS:

OCL values the input and suggestions from the community.

Please click on  and complete the form on the following link to make a book request: