KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2013 TRIBAL COUNCIL

WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR., President ELIZABETH D. MAYO, Vice-President SUSAN J. LAFERNIER, Secretary TONI J. MINTON, Assistant Secretary JENNIFER MISEGAN, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. FRED DAKOTA JEAN JOKINEN MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. CAROLE L. LAPOINTE ELIZABEHT "CHIZ" MATTHEWS DON MESSER, JR.

MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 – 9:00 A.M.



A. Date: September 11, 2013

B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer and a remembrance of 911 years ago

D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Elizabeth D. Mayo, Vice President (arrived at 1:19 p.m.)

Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary

Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary (arrived at 1:09 p.m.)

Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer (arrived at 9:24 a.m., left at 3:44 p.m.)

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.

Fred Dakota (left 10:32 a.m. – 1: 09 p.m.)

Jean Jokinen

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

Carole L. LaPointe (arrived at 11:27 a.m.) Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews (left at 3:56 p.m.)

Don Messer, Jr.

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: September 11, 2013

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Carole L. LaPointe), MOTION CARRIED.

- G. Closed Session:
 - 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBIC Members]

- a) Dale Dakota, Tribal Police
- b) Brad Dakota, Tribal Court
- c) Amy St. Arnold, Education Department
- d) Lindy Grell, Tribal Attorney
- e) Janice Halverson, Community Needs Assistance Program
- f) Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., THPO/Section 106
- g) Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., Powwow/Cultural Committee/Language
- h) Bruce LaPointe, Building Inspector
- i) Nikki Reenders-Arens, Youth Program/Summer Youth
- j) Debra Picciano, TERO

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 9:13 A.M. SUPPORTED BY ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Toni J. Minton, Jennifer Misegan, Carole L. LaPointe), MOTION CARRIED.

Jennifer Misegan arrived at 9:24 a.m.

Fred Dakota left at 10:32 a.m.

Break: 10:33 - 10:50 a.m.

Carole LaPointe arrived at 11:27 a.m.

Lunch: 12:00 - 1:09 p.m.

Toni Minton arrived at 1:09 p.m.

Fred Dakota returned at 1:09 p.m.

Jennifer Misegan returned from lunch at 1:16 p.m.

Elizabeth Mayo arrived at 1:19 p.m.

Jean Jokinen left 1:25 – 1:41 p.m.

Break: 2:31-2:49 p.m.

Break: 3:16-3:27 p.m.

Jennifer Misegan left at 3:44 p.m.

Elizabeth Matthews left at 3:56 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 4:09 P.M. SUPPORTED BY CAROLE L. LAPOINTE. NINE IN FAVOR (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe, Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), MOTION CARRIED.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY TONI J. MINTON TO ADJOURN AT 4:11 P.M. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. NINE IN FAVOR (Elizabeth D. Mayo, Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe, Don Messer, Jr.), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Jennifer Misegan, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot

Administrative Specialist

ry Loonsfoot

AGENDA

KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY FINANCE/SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM WEDNESDAY – SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 – 9:00 A.M.

A.	Date:	September 11, 2013
B.	Call to Order:	
C.	Invocation:	Lord's Prayer
D.	Roll Call:	Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Elizabeth D. Mayo, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Fred Dakota Jean Jokinen Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Carole L. LaPointe Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews Donald Messer, Jr.
E.	Declaration of Quorum:	
F.	Approval of Agenda: September 11, 2013	
G.	Closed Session:	

- 1. Budget Reviews [Open to KBlC Members]
 - a) Dale Dakota, Tribal Police 9:00 a.m. 9:20 a.m.
 - b) Brad Dakota, Tribal Court 9:20 9:40 a.m.
 - c) Amy St. Arnold, Education Department 9:40 10:00 a.m.
 - d) Lindy Grell, Tribal Attorney -10:20 10:40 a.m.
 - e) Janice Halverson, Community Needs Assistance Program I0:40 11:00 a.m.
 - f) Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., THPO I1:00 11:20 a.m.
 - g) Gary Loonsfoot, Jr., Powwow/Cultural Committee 11:20 11:40 a.m.
 - h) Sarah Maki, Fitness Program 11:40 a.m. 12:00 p.m.
 - i) Bruce LaPointe, Building Inspector 1:00 1:20 p.m.
 - j) Nikki Reenders-Arens, Youth Program/Summer Youth -1:20 1:40 p.m.
 - k) Debra Picciano, TERO -1:40 2:00 p.m.
 - 1) Carole LaPointe, Health Department 2:20 3:00 p.m.
 - m) Charles Brumleve, Mining -3:00-3:20 p.m.

- n) Pauline Spruce, Personnel -3:20-3:40 p.m.
- o) Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President 3:40 4:00 p.m.
- p) Lori Sherman, Natural Resources Department 4:00 4:20 p.m.

H. Adjournment: