KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY

2014 TRIBAL COUNCIL

DONALD SHALIFOE. SR., Ogimaa CAROLE L. LAPOINTE, Vice Chairwoman JEAN JOKINEN, Secretary GARY F. LOONSFOOT, SR., Asst. Secretary EDDY EDWARDS, Treasurer Keweenaw Bay Tribal Center 16429 Beartown Road Baraga, Michigan 49908 Phone (906) 353-6623 Fax (906) 353-7540

ROBERT "R.D." CURTIS, JR. MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. SUSAN J. LAFERNIER ELIZABETH "CHIZ" MATTHEWS DON MESSER, JR. JENNIFER MISEGAN WARREN C. SWARTZ, JR.

MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING OJIBWA CASINO RESORT CONFERENCE ROOM TUESDAY – MARCH 26, 2013 – 1:00 P.M.

A. Date: March 26, 2013

B. Call to Order: Vice President Mayo called the meeting to order at 1:11 p.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer

D. Roll Call: Present: Elizabeth D. Mayo, Vice President Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Fred Dakota Jean Jokinen Michael F. LaFernier, Sr. Carole L. LaPointe (arrived at 1:12 p.m.) Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews (arrived at 2:05 p.m.)

> Absent: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President Jennifer Misegan, Treasurer Don Messer, Jr.

- E. Declaration of Quorum: Vice President Mayo declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order of business.
- F. Approval of Agenda: March 26, 2013

Addition: New Business- 2. Larry Denomie III, CEO – Interim Enrollment Director

MOTION MADE BY TONI J. MINTON TO APPROVE THE AGENDA WITH THE ADDITION. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Copy



LAKE SUPERIOR BAND¹OF CHIPPEWA INDIANS

"Home of the Midnight Two-Step Championship"

G. New Business:

- 1. Vince Rose, EBA (Employee Benefits Agency, Inc.)/Bonnie Nelson BC/BS April 2013 Renewal Options (169 Government Employees/174 Enterprise Employees)
- 2. Larry Denomie III, CEO Interim Enrollment Director Appointment (During the absence of Jennifer Misegan)

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO APPOINT DIANA CHAUDIER AS THE INTERIM ENROLLMENT DIRECTOR AT \$19.95 PER HOUR. SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON. SIX IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe), ONE OPPOSED (Jean Jokinen), ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), MOTION CARRIED.

BC/BS Renewal -

MOTION MADE BY JEAN JOKINEN TO LOOK INTO INCREASING THE EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTION RATES AND RAISE THE PRESCRIPTION COPAYS TO \$10/\$40/\$80 AND RAISE THE IN-NETWORK DEDUCTIBLE TO \$5,000.00 AND RAISE THE OUT-OF-NETWORK DEDUCTIBLE TO \$10,000.00. SUPPORTED BY ROBERT R.D. CURTIS, JR. TWO IN FAVOR (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Jean Jokinen), FIVE OPPOSED (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe), ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews, Don Messer, Jr.), MOTION DEFEATED.

MOTION MADE BY TONI J. MINTON TO APPROVE THE 2013 BC/BS RENEWAL PLAN WITH A DEDUCTIBLE INCREASE TO \$5,000.00 FOR IN-NETWORK AND \$10,000.00 FOR OUT-OF-NETWORK AND INCREASE THE PRESCRIPTION COPAYS TO \$7/\$35/\$70 IN ORDER TO KEEP THE EMPLOYEE CONTRIBUTION THE SAME. SUPPORTED BY SUSAN J. LAFERNIER. FOUR IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Fred Dakota, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.), TWO OPPOSED (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Jean Jokinen), TWO ABSTAINING (Carole L. LaPointe, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Don Messer, Jr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Elizabeth Matthews arrived at 2:05 p.m.

H. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY FRED DAKOTA TO ADJOURN AT 2:07 P.M. SUPPORTED BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Fred Dakota, Jean Jokinen, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Carole L. LaPointe, Elizabeth "Chiz" Matthews), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, THREE ABSENT (Warren C. Swartz, Jr., Jennifer Misegan, Don Messer, Jr.), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Reggy Loonsfeet

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist