# MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TRIBAL CENTER CONFERENCE ROOM TUESDAY – NOVEMBER 12, 2019 – 1:00 P.M.

A. Date: November 12, 2019

B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer

D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President

Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary

Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary (arrived at 1:25 p.m.)

Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Dale F. Goodreau

Randall R. Haataja (arrived at 1:08 p.m.)

Kim Klopstein

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

Rodney Loonsfoot Elizabeth D. Mayo

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order

of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: November 12, 2019

Allen Gauthier filed a lawsuit against the Council related to the Election (they have not been served yet)

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. and Rodney Loonsfoot requested to move Closed Session to Open Session but it was denied due to the legal discussion related to the lawsuit.

Randall Haataja arrived at 1:08 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO APPROVE THE AGENDA. SUPPORTED BY KIM KLOPSTEIN. EIGHT IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), TWO OPPOSED (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Rodney Loonsfoot), ABSTAINING - 0, ONE ABSENT (Toni J. Minton), MOTION CARRIED.

Rodney Loonsfoot stated his opposition: He feels it is inappropriate for the Council to discuss what is going on (related to the lawsuit).

### G. New Business:

1. Jennifer Misegan, KBIC Tobacco Company – Cigarette Tax Stamping Machine Bids (3) for the Asemaa Wholesale and Distribution

USTW (Salamanca, New York) VL-10 (Used) Tax Stamping Machine

Toni Minton arrived at 1:25 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY KIM KLOPSTEIN TO APPROVE UP TO \$30,000.00 FOR THE PURCHASE OF A TAX STAMPING MACHINE AND RELATED COSTS FROM USTW. SUPPORTED BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), TWO OPPOSED (Dale F. Goodreau, Rodney Loonsfoot), TWO ABSTAINING (Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.), ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

## H. Closed Session:

1. Rodney Loonsfoot/Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr./Dale Goodreau – Special Run-Off Election (possible options)/Term Limits Discussion

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 1:28 P.M. CO-SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON AND MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. NINE IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), TWO OPPOSED (Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Rodney Loonsfoot), ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

Break: 2:13 – 2:32 p.m.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 3:23 P.M. SUPPORTED BY RODNEY LOONSFOOT. TEN IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ONE ABSENT (Doreen G. Blaker), MOTION CARRIED.

(Doreen Blaker is out of the room)

Baraga District to run Five Candidates in the General Election December 14, 2019

As a result of the Primary Election held on November 2, 2019, two candidates are tied for the fourth seat in the Baraga District.

MOTION MADE BY RODNEY LOONSFOOT TO FOLLOW THE CONSTITUTION AND RUN ALL FIVE CANDIDATES AT THE GENERAL ELECTION AND TO FOLLOW THE DATE FOR THE GENERAL ELECTION ACCORDING TO THE CONSTITUTION AND TO CERTIFY THE TOP FIVE IN THE BARAGA DISTRICT WHICH INCLUDES TWO THAT ARE TIED WITH THE SAME NUMBER OF VOTES. SUPPORTED BY RANDALL R. HAATAJA.

# PRESIDENT SWARTZ REQUESTED A ROLL CALL VOTE.

Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr.	Aye	Randall R. Haataja	Aye
Susan J. LaFernier	Nay	Kim Klopstein	Aye
Toni J. Minton	Aye	Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.	Aye
Doreen G. Blaker	Aye	Rodney Loonsfoot	Aye
Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr.	Aye	Elizabeth D. Mayo	Nay
Dale F. Goodreau	Aye		_

NINE IN FAVOR, TWO OPPOSED, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

# I. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY MICHAEL F. LAFERNIER, SR. TO ADJOURN AT 3:28 P.M. SUPPORTED BY TONI J. MINTON. ALL IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Toni J. Minton, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Dale F. Goodreau, Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, ABSENT - 0, MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist