MINUTES KEWEENAW BAY INDIAN COMMUNITY SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING BIG BUCKS BINGO HALL WEDNESDAY – OCTOBER 30, 2019 – 10:00 A.M.

A. Date: October 30, 2019

B. Call to Order: President Swartz called the meeting to order at 10:11 a.m.

C. Invocation: Lord's Prayer

D. Roll Call: Present: Warren C. Swartz, Jr., President

Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Vice President (left at 11:35 a.m.)

Susan J. LaFernier, Secretary Doreen G. Blaker, Treasurer

Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr. Randall R. Haataja Kim Klopstein

Michael F. LaFernier, Sr.

Rodney Loonsfoot (left at 11:35 a.m.)

Elizabeth D. Mayo

Absent: Toni J. Minton, Assistant Secretary

Dale F. Goodreau

E. Declaration of Quorum: President Swartz declared a quorum present and proceeded with the order

of business.

F. Approval of Agenda: October 30, 2019

MOTION MADE BY RODNEY LOONSFOOT TO APPROVE THE AGENDA AND GO INTO CLOSED SESSION AT 10:13 A.M. SUPPORTED BY KIM KLOPSTEIN. NINE IN FAVOR (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Rodney Loonsfoot, Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, TWO ABSENT (Toni J. Minton, Dale F. Goodreau), MOTION CARRIED.

G. Closed Session:

1. Ojibwa BP Gas Station Underground Storage Tanks – Embankment Erosion – Draft Press Release Review

Paul Mooney, Tom Chosa, Mike Lahti, Michelle Hoggard, Evelyn Ravindran, Dione Price present

Gary Loonsfoot, Jr. and Rodney Loonsfoot left at 11:35 a.m.

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO GO INTO OPEN SESSION AT 11:55 A.M. SUPPORTED BY DOREEN G. BLAKER. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Dale F. Goodreau, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

J. Adjournment:

MOTION MADE BY ELIZABETH D. MAYO TO ADJOURN AT 11:56 A.M. SUPPORTED BY KIM KLOPSTEIN. SEVEN IN FAVOR (Susan J. LaFernier, Doreen G. Blaker, Robert R.D. Curtis, Jr., Randall R. Haataja, Kim Klopstein, Michael F. LaFernier, Sr., Elizabeth D. Mayo), OPPOSED - 0, ABSTAINING - 0, FOUR ABSENT (Gary F. Loonsfoot, Jr., Toni J. Minton, Dale F. Goodreau, Rodney Loonsfoot), MOTION CARRIED.

Respectfully submitted,

Peggy Loonsfoot Administrative Specialist